Pink Lemonade Cupcakes… Yum?????

When we lived in Winston Salem, NC.  We visited a bakery in Old Salem during the summer and they had Pink Lemonade cake squares on sale.  We got two the first time we visited and my hubby loved it so much every time we were in the area we would make sure and grab a few squares.  Well one day in fall when we went back to the bakery they no longer selling the pink lemonade cake squares because it was a summer only item.  Lately my husband has been asking me to bake some pink lemonade cupcakes and yesterday I broke down and gave it a try.

I searched for a recipe that I knew I had all the ingredients for and gave it a try.  It was a simple recipe to follow.  Here’s the recipe I used…  I found it on this Starting to Simmer blog.

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes
adapted from Vanilla Cupcakes by Amy Sedaris
yield: 24 cupcakes
 
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
2 1/2 cups flour
1 cup milk 
2 packets of Pink Lemonade flavor “On The Go” Crystal Light
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease or line a cupcake pan with paper liners.
 
In a large bowl cream together butter and sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time. Add salt, and baking powder.
 
Add Crystal Light to the milk and stir until combined. Add flour in three batches, alternating with the milk mixture. Mix until batter is smooth with no lumps, but do not over beat.
 
Divide batter evenly among cups, and bake for 18- 20 minutes or until tops are just golden and toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool on rack to room temperature before frosting.
I will say that the cupcakes were a little lighter than I wanted.  I don’t think the pink lemonade mix added color at all.  Next time I will add more pink food coloring to aide in making it pinker.  I also found it a little too tart for me so I may try using a little less lemonade mix next time.  I also used yellow frosting on my cupcakes because when we would buy the cake in Winston Salem it had yellow frosting so it was my way to remind us of that memory.  It wasn’t a bad first attempt but I wouldn’t share it with people outside my family.  I have to make a few adjustments and try it again soon.  Here’s some pics of my Pink Lemonade Cupcakes.  It is frosted with Lemon Buttercream Frosting and some of them have pink sugar sprinkled on them.

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

Next week I am going to try a new cupcake recipe so I hope you check out that post when I do make it.

Happy Baking

The Submissive Wife

Leave a Reply

