Childhood Memories

This past weekend we went to Costco just so I could see if  they were carrying Otis Spunkmeyer Cookies like it stated on the cookie company website.  It also helped because on the weekends Costco does free samples of different products in the store.  It was just great within five minutes of entering the store I was savoring the amazing flavors of my first sample and heading to a table to grab another.  The trip was already looking up and wasn’t going to be in vain either.  I had already found spaghetti sauce at a even better bargain because of the $2.00 off coupon from Costco.  I got to the freezer section and of course the cookie dough wasn’t there but I did find a tub of Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough that would do the job and definitely cut the amount I was spending lately buying them from KFC.

As I headed to the section where they sell their fresh produce and meat I saw a sample table that had to offerings.  First  you could choose a small slice of french baguette that had a light coating of butter or you could choose a small chunk of aged cheddar cheese.  I grabbed both and put the cheese on the bread and took a bit.  It was amazing.  I love cheddar cheese, my husband will tell you I seriously do and the sharper the better.  I was in heaven with this cheese.  I looked over to Steve to tell him how this is the kind of cheddar I liked.  It was white and aged perfectly.  I asked the woman where in the store I could find the butter and cheese and he pointed to a cold case next to her and stated that the products were imported for St. Patrick’s Day it was Irish cheese and butter.  I turned around and couldn’t help it when the tears filled in my eyes.  I know you are thinking this woman is nuts and fat crying over butter and cheese, but it was not just any butter and cheese.

I was born in Trinidad, my family (my parents and siblings) moved to the United States when I was 14 years old.  I am 28 years old and I have never been back yet.  By September 12th this year, the day after we moved I would have spent more of my life in America than I have spent in my birth country.  Having my children has made me much more aware of ways to pass my culture on to them because it is apart of who they are.  They can’t understand now but some day they will want to know what Nana and Papa sounds different or who calls from Trinidad to talk to them.  Not to mention when family from home visits or when I finally take them back so anything I can share and pass on I do.  Now back to that butter and cheese.  I looked in that case and immediately remembered the scent of fresh baked bread my mother just took out the oven and waiting two minutes to cut a slice and put butter on it and have it melt a little so I could get the bread while it was still warm.  That butter from my mother’s kitchen was the same butter staring back at me in that case.  That butter made endless parata and roti from my mother’s kitchen when she would cater small parties or have a Curry Que.  That’s the same butter I used to bake my first sponge cake in Home Economics class when I was just 11 years old.  That butter was a major part of a past that was starting to fade in my mind and I couldn’t believe I would see it again.  The butter is Kerrygold Irish Butter.

Kerrygold Irish Butter

Now the cheese, like I said I am a huge cheddar fan but in moving to America I discovered that cheddar was orange for the most part and not the light yellow or while color I was used to.  I also found that it wasn’t as sharp as the cheese I remember eating as a child, so I always get extra sharp cheddar.  When when I ate that cheese I know that I was having a piece of home.  I saw it in the case and could remember grabbing it to put in the shopping cart as a child with my mom.  I even when back for seconds.  I am telling you if you like sharp cheese this is one you have to try.  I couldn’t believe that an outing at Costco that started out with me just looking for cookies would end with such amazing childhood memories.  Thanks Costco for the ride home and the chance to share that with Steve and the kids its a great small step into who I am.

Aged Cheddar Cheese

Thanks for reading,

The Submissive Wife

Nicki.

Leave a Reply

