Coupon Queens

First let me say that I am sorry for the absence of post especially my new dish night posts but we were stuck in Baltimore for two weeks after two snow storms.  I know you heard of Snowmagadden, well we were right there in the thick of it.  Buried in over two feet of snow and then to only get buried in two more three days later.  It was a mess, but we did have some fun times from it.

Last night I went to Harris Teeter because they were running Super Double Coupons.  If you are not a coupon person or don’t usually see this let me break it down for you.  Harris Teeter was doubling coupons with face values of up to $1.98.  So that means if you had a coupon for $1.98 off you would be getting $3.97 off instead.  Usually supermarkets only double coupons up to $0.99 cents and every how and again they will triple those coupons and that’s a coupon clippers dream but this is good too and also very rare because all the dollar off and $1.50 off coupons that you have are not gold mines and its even better when you are using them on items that’s already on sale.

When I saw it on the website I was so excited that I had some coupons from when we were in Baltimore so I started clipping the ones I though I would want and headed out to HT.  Now this is not my first experience with coupon shopping I just haven’t done it in a while but I have made my husband a believer after one trip to Lowes Supermarket when We saved over $70.00 on a grocery bill.  I even brought myself a little coupon holder and everything but stopped after I stopped my newspaper subscription because we were traveling and they were getting taken by our neighbors.  After I finished clipping them I placed them in my purse and got ready for the trip to the store.  When we got there I started to organize my coupons based on what I really wanted to get and headed down those isles.  At first I didn’t notice anyone else shopping or using coupons and I found that odd because when they have triple coupons the store is always full.  I did notice that the items I wanted wasn’t stocked on the shelves so I knew people had been there shopping and buying items.

So I head down the household cleaner isle to get some items from there and then to my surprise I found the Coupon Queens.  I felt like a amateur when I looked at these two moms shopping with there kids.  I mean they had this thing down to a science.   Now I had some of my coupons scattered in my cart and was frantically looking through some in my hand trying to find a Lysol coupon I knew I had clipped but for some odd reason I couldn’t find and I bumped into a black 3 inch three ring binder filled with baseball card collector pages all organized with rows and rows and pages and pages of coupons.  Every section color coded and properly accounted for.  I don’t think this woman didn’t have a coupon for something.  I looked at her savings binder and knew I was way out of my league.

Coupon clipping and shopping is an art form.  Its not easy to get all your coupons clipped and now with so many other places to check for them you always want to make sure you have some.  Then you have to check sales papers every week to see how you can double your saving with matching a coupon with a sale item.  Not to mention getting ready for the Superbowl of coupon shopping with events like Triple and Super Double Coupon Days.  Its hard work and so worth it in the end.  I know my deals were nothing compared to theirs but nothing is better than watching the coupons being scanned and your total get lower and lower.  This time I stocked up on essentials.  My best deal was a box of Tylenol Allergy and Cold medicine that was originally $6.48 for $0.48 cents.  The store had it on clearance for $2.48 and I had a $1.00 off coupon and when it doubled it was $2.00 off leaving me with just $0.48 cents.  I also got a bottle of Welchs Grape Juice for a dollar and some amazing deals on yogurt.  I felt good.  I saved $46.07 in coupons.  It was a great trip but I am going to invest in the Coupon Queen in me and step my game up.  What a night it was.  Catch you soon.  No new dish night again, we are taking Kennedi to Chuck E Cheese because she has been asking for two months to go. Peace and Blessings

The Submissive Wife.

Nicki

Leave a Reply

